About Me

My photo
Baltimore, Maryland, United States

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Gotta Toughen Up!

A friend of mine used the term "heart armor" when I told her I was taking the rescue job. My armor needs some work - one of my favorite dogs is being adopted and I am so sad about it!
He came home with me for a few nights and we both completely fell in love with the one-eyed Shih-Tzu pooch. What a snuggly, cuddly ball of fluff! I've never been much for the smaller dogs (I always thought they were kind of wussified) but this little guy made me think differently. What personality! He loves being around people! He never barked, he didn't chase the cats around (I think he was a little scared of the them) and he cuddled whenever he could with both of us - naps with us on the couch and he took over the middle of the bed at night!
It's a good thing that he's going to have a forever home, I know, but I am going to miss him! We both missed him the day after he left the house after a visit! I'm happy we were able to spoil him with lots of hugs and kisses... hopefully his new owner will do the same!

Sunday, September 12, 2010

updates all around

The new job has kept me very busy so I haven't had a chance to post anything about it until now (Thank you cats for waking me up a little early this morning). I can't get over how nice it is to be genuinely EXCITED to go to work everyday. It's 3 miles away from the house so I have been traffic-free since I left SBT which also adds appeal to the job. My days are spent cleaning, scooping, pooping, walking, medicating and feeding many cats and dogs. There is a lot of physical activity which sometimes leaves me sore, but I also find it refreshing. A desk job just started to make me feel so stagnant and stiff. I know my body will get used to picking up puppies and litter pans eventually - I'm going to be buff :) When I'm not running around, I'm able to sit with the animals and just give them LOVE. Head scratches and belly rubs for all! Many of the animals have been through some terrible stuff in their lives and these calm, soothing moments really bring value to their lives. I am ecstatic to be able to show them that they can all be loved, no matter what. So so far, the job is just what I wanted it to be!

As far as the No Shampoo thing goes, I'm still no 'pooing it and I'm not looking back! Everything is leveling out now and my hair just feels natural and shiny and healthy. I don't really use the baking soda or apple cider vinegar anymore - just water and a comb in the shower. It still amazes me how nice my hair looks and feels! It doesn't smell bad or look terrible (B confirmed it for me).

Let's see if I can get in another hour of sleep before I go to work today. The job is great, but it's rainy and EVERYONE would much rather stay in bed on a rainy day.

Thursday, August 26, 2010

No 'Poo 3 and Last 2 Days at this Job

It's been a week since I used traditional shampoo to wash my hair. An update so far...
Today I massaged a diluted solution of baking soda and water (1 teaspoon bs to 1 cup of water) to my roots to combat any oil and I sprayed diluted apple cider vinegar (about 50/50) on my ends to help with dryness. My hair feels just as it did when I used traditional shampoo!!! It's so weird how this is all working out.
Also, today is my second to last day at this job before I move onto the animal shelter on September 1st. It is going to be SO NICE to get out of Baltimore City. Woo Hoo!

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

No 'Poo 2

This AM, I used a diluted solution of water and apple cider vinegar to condition and detangle my hair. It worked amazingly well! I think I probably should have rinsed my hair for a little bit longer because I do notice a very slight vinegar smell... Super slight. I think I only notice it because I'm the only one aware of the chemical beauty experiments going on in my bath tub... Other than that, my hair feels GREAT!

Monday, August 23, 2010

No 'Poo

I have had gray hairs since I was 13-14 and I've been dying my hair since then to cover them up. (I did take a break for a little bit, but I gave that up after a few months because I'm not too fond of the grays at this age. When I'm older, I'll let them show). ANYWAY, I was noticing that the dye fades so damn quickly even though I use a color-shield type shampoo and conditioner. I end up having to re-dye my hair every 2 1/2 - 3 weeks!
I had talked to a friend's wife at a party a few weeks ago and she mentioned she's stopped using shampoo for environmental reasons and it's worked out great for her. I researched some more on this whole "No 'Poo" movement and I've jumped on board. From what I understand, using shampoo and deodorant on a daily basis forces our bodies to create MORE oil and MORE sweat to make up for the stuff getting washed/absorbed away. I will say that this little cat lady WILL NOT be giving up deodorant anytime soon but this whole No Shampoo thing is working out pretty darn well so far. It's day 5 and my hair doesn't feel greasy and it doesn't smell weird or anything like that. It's easier to brush and style AND it dries a lot faster after I'm out of the shower. I can use baking soda when I do feel the need to wash some of the oils away and apple cider vinegar is said to have great clarifying properties...I'll have to try that stuff later this week.
It's funny, the boyfriend goes away on a business trip for the next ten days and swears he's going to come back to me, and my single, huge dreadlock... What a hippie : ). We"ll see what happens with this whole experiment.

Friday, August 20, 2010

Adios

Apparently the owners have been trying to sell this location for a few months now and found buyers about a week before I put in my resignation notice. I guess I was going to be "sold" with this store.

When I told them I was leaving, I was asked if there was anything they could do to keep me here. Now what if I had said, "yes" and stayed here? I would have found out a week later that this store was going to be sold and I'd have the fun of dealing with the transition from one set of owners to the next set. I think if I had been told that the store was sold (after I agreed to NOT quit), I would have let some not-so-nice things slip from my lips and I probably would have lost a reference of 5 years. I know that all is fair in the business world, but sometimes it's really, really shitty. There are 3 individuals in this store that have put a lot of blood, sweat and tears into making this store AND the other two stores successful for the past 5 years... to be sold off so abruptly, is definitely a slap in the face. I'm thankful that I made the decision to leave when I did. I hope for the sake of the one co-worker/friend I leave behind that this store succeeds with the new owners.

Right now, it's a mess in here. Cashflow has always been an issue, but right now we are on hold with so many damn vendors, it's ridiculous (and embarrassing). I'm thankful my paycheck cleared into my account this AM and cross my fingers that my final check will do the same.

I think the plan eventually is for the other 2 stores to be sold off... This store was the only one that seemed to make any profit. Sell this store and use the money from the sale to make the other stores look more profitable, thus more expensive. I'm sure they'll deny it, but I've realized how sneaky the two can be. There's lies flying all around this place (I find out more and more as the days tick by). Good for them. I hope they enjoy their big wad of cash. I just hope the other employees in the other stores are ready to look for new jobs and accept this era as a complete waste of time.

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

3 weeks

So after 7 or so years in the graphic design/ print industry, I've decided to step out and work for a local animal rescue and hospice starting September 1st. I realized that I needed to do something else... something that excites me and leaves me feeling good at the end of the work day.
I've hit the point where I can't stand the city and its residents any more. The smell, the sights, the traffic, EVERYTHING in the city has started to bother me. I need to get out of here so I can once again appreciate Charm City and its potential to be a beautiful place.
People come in and spend so much energy
worrying about their signs and projects - I want to shout at them "This is NOT IMPORTANT! There are so many other things in life and the world you should be worrying about!" I recognize the fact that it's always been like this and these people have to/like to worry about this stuff. I've just lost interest and I personally don't care about this field anymore. It's not satisfying for me. I could elaborate on things that piss me off regarding this particular organization, but really, it's not worth it. Why burn bridges? I stuck around here for more than five years and tolerated things as long as possible. I'm just going to another place to grin and bear it somewhere else... where it's more worthwhile - at least in my eyes. No place is perfect... As much as we wish it were. I will miss the people I've worked with here though... Hopefully we all stay in touch!
I have lost the passion I once had for this job and I am ready to apply it to something (and some little furry beings) that can really benefit from my hard work and dedication. I honestly could give a flying sh_t. :)
It's going to be messy, stinky and sad at times, but I can't wait! I am so excited to make a living while helping animals (it helps that it's less than 3 miles from my home too). It has always been a love of mine and I'm thankful that I've been given this opportunity to break out into the animal welfare field. I've been instructed by a friend to wear my "heart armor" because I'm going to see some "sad puddins"... Loss of an animal is never easy, but knowing that you are key in keeping them comfortable and happy in their last few months/days/hours of their lives must feel amazing!
I did the proper thing and gave 3 weeks notice... Let me just say, This is the LONGEST three weeks I have experienced EVER! I'll be sure to post updates once I start this new job...