About Me

My photo
Baltimore, Maryland, United States

Friday, February 27, 2009

Whoo Hoo!

Billy is on his way home with... A NEW CAR!!! A Mazda 3 - Blue/Grey Color, manual (which is tough to find these days) and a moonroof!!!! I am so happy for him and so happy the Escort is gone. It served him well, but since I've had my new car (a year soon!) I haven't really driven with him in his old car (towards the end, it was dirty and I felt like it was bound to go up soon!!!). It is GREAT that he was able to make this happen because he truly deserves it! I am so proud of him and happy and I can't wait to smell that new car smell!!!!

Friday, February 20, 2009

Creativity with Illustrator

I was sort of not busy at work today, so I decided to see if I could build a vector image based on a photo that still looked like a photo - no harsh lines.... I think it came out pretty well! This may be my next tattoo!




Thursday, February 19, 2009

Asian Driver...


Why is it that Asians have such a horrible rep for being bad drivers?
Believe me, every race has an equal amount of bad drivers - I see it everyday during my commute to work!

I'm baffled and a bit emabarassed by the fact that I find this stereotype absolutely hilarious... That makes me a bad Korean I think.

I cringe when I think about driving in the parking lot in front of Billy's store - it's next to a gigantic Asian/Ethnic food store... That makes me just as bad as the other people that think all Asians are bad drivers!

But I think there may be some truth to all stereotypes - otherwise they wouldn't exist, right?

How did the stereotype start and how does it still exist?

http://www.misanthropytoday.com/2009/02/18/driving-tips-for-bad-drivers-in-los-angeles/

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Health Costs Blow!

So for the past few years I've been on Lexapro which is the BOMB when it comes to making the winter and the cold a little less dreary for me. It had very few side effects and it worked without making me too crazy or frantic.
When my company had decent health insurance, I'd pay the $20 copay for a month-long RX. Unfortunately, with the cost of health insurance rising, SBT switched to a High Deductible Insurance Plan where I basically pay everything out of pocket until I hit $1500 for the year - only after I spend that money will copays come into effect. (Thankfully the idiots that came up with this concept managed to keep annual exams and girl/OBGYN appointments at the $20-$30 price)
So anyway, the cost of Lexapro jumped to more than $70 a month!!!! I've hit the point where my health savings account is draining out faster than I can add to it and I need to switch to a cheaper drug - Hopefully, it will work just as well for me. But what if it doesn't?!!!!!!
The patent on Lexapro was renewed so generics won't be out until 2012 (greedy pill companies!) I'm pretty confident that I wouldn't have been put in this predicament if my employer wasn't getting completely raped by the cost of providing his employees with a decent health plan and we could have stuck with our standard HMO plan.
I makes me sick to know that our health care is so f_ed in this country that people are forced to make such decisions regarding their well-being... I mean, this pill is just something that makes me a little more comfortable in everyday life, but there are people out there that can't afford heart medication... insulin... other vital medicines... Something has got to give!