About Me

My photo
Baltimore, Maryland, United States

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Deviantart

I finally started a Deviant Art page, but I have yet to have enough time to dig through all of my files... I've uploaded what I was able to find easily, but there will be plenty more to come.
http://jlhcrawford.deviantart.com/

Friday, December 11, 2009

Hello Kitty Rims

These rims are the coolest things ever. If I had an extra $900, I would most definitely be purchasing these Hello Kitty rims for my little Versa. So adorably understated (not neon pink) and awesome! They would have to be accompanied with the Hello Kitty tailpipe I keep seeing around too!


Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Uuter and Rogie Perogie

A favorite picture of the new kitten trying
to get on Uuter's good side (the older cat).
Head on the tail... So precious!!!

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

R...r...r....


I was at the restaurant (owned by very sweet and nice Koreans)
that's next door to my workplace and I found this sign.
If you say the word "tortirinni" out loud, you will most definitely giggle...
I guarantee it!
The employees at the place are so adorable and kind to me every time I'm over there. This sign just makes me smile even more when I think of the place!


Bored... need some cuteness





What a blah Tuesday... Needed some cute little fuzzies to brighten my day!!!
A pug, kangaroo, and some hamsters to bring some "oooohs" and "ahhhhs".

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Dear Sir,

Dear Mr. Unitas,

I am a 28-year-old, professional, Korean-American woman who feels she has been discriminated against by a traffic safety officer. T his is after 12 years of working/commuting in Baltimore City, without incident.

I regret to inform you that I had a very unpleasant experience with Officer Wilkens, a crossing guard/traffic enforcement officer on the afternoon of December 2, 2009 at 12:45PM at the intersection of Baltimore Street and Calvert Street. I was told that you would be able to help me and address my concerns regarding this matter.

I was walking westbound on Baltimore Street (on the right side) and was crossing over Calvert Street to continue walking westbound on Baltimore Street. While I was in the middle of the intersection, the crosswalk light changed from the white "WALK" icon to the flashing red “STOP” icon. As this happened and while I was in the middle of the intersection, the traffic officer at that intersection pointed directly at me and yelled "Don't you understand?! That means stop walking!!!" I believed that she was telling me to hasten my pace to get out of the intersection, but as I continued to walk, she again yelled and whistled at me, telling me to stop where I was. Other people walking within the same walkway continued on while I was stopped by Officer Wilkens. She ordered me stop (alone) in the middle of the intersection, in the street, while the traffic facing me (moving eastbound on Baltimore Street) made left turns on red, and crossed my path (some cars swerved to avoid hitting me). As I stood in the middle of the street, the flashing red "STOP" hand changed to a solid red "STOP" hand. She motioned for the traffic on Calvert Street to proceed and I scrambled to get out of the intersection and out of the way of traffic approaching from Calvert Street.

I left the intersection feeling that being made to stand in the middle of the intersection was not only very dangerous but extremely humiliating as the whistling/yelling caught attention of people passing by. I finished my quick dash to the bank and when I crossed through that intersection again, I politely asked the officer (verbatim), “Excuse me Officer, Doesn’t a flashing red signal, while a person is in the middle of a crosswalk, serve as warning sign to finish crossing? I didn’t think it meant for that person to stop in the middle of the intersection. Please let me know if I’m wrong.” The traffic guard told me very rudely, “Don’t you tell me how to do my job!” I told her that I was asking for future reference – maybe my knowledge was wrong and she could clarify/correct me. She again said I was "telling her how to do her job" and that I "didn’t know what I was talking about". I reiterate the fact that I was polite and calm the entire time I spoke with her – no accusations, no pointing fingers. I, myself was willing to accept the blame for any traffic signal ignorance! (I cross the same intersection every day usually en route to my company’s bank and I did not want to commit this type of faux pas again.)

Matters were aggravated when she muttered a racial slur under her breath while I stood there (something along the lines of ‘chink.’) This gave me no choice but to ask for her name, which she readily declared as "Officer Wilkens". She then started joking with a passerby about me “not understanding things” while I was standing right next to her.

I was adopted from Korea when I was 11 months old by a Caucasian couple. While I (sadly) do not speak my native language, Korean, I have excelled in subjects such as English and Literature throughout my elementary, middle, high school and college "career". It is very offensive to me that Officer Wilkens felt that she could be so rude and disrespectful to me today. I'm not sure if she believed that I did not understand what she was saying or if she was under the impression that what she was saying was acceptable. While I am used to the occasional joke, chuckle or inappropriate comment regarding my race, this is the most blatant act of racism I have ever witnessed towards me!

I have been in and around Baltimore City all of my life and this situation changed how I view this great city. As we struggle to control crime and attract tourism, I worry about how situations like mine may affect people visiting from other towns, states, and countries. I am saddened very much by these events. On a daily basis, I work with the Baltimore City Police Department, the Department of General Services, the Planning Department and other factions of the city without incident. I have had very good experiences with all of Baltimore City’s personnel, but this situation has very much soured my view of the city.


Police officers are trained "To Protect and To Serve," but I don't feel like I was protected while standing in the middle of a busy intersection in lunch-hour traffic. I don't feel that anything positive was accomplished by me being publicly ridiculed in front of others while trying to cross the street.

I apologize for the lengthy complaint, but I do not want anyone else to have to experience such a negative event. I am incredibly hurt and angry about this situation. I would appreciate immediate feedback from you.

Thank you very much for your time and you assistance with this matter.

Friday, November 20, 2009

funny stuff for a slow Friday

Most of this stuff is common knowledge,
but what a cute little article.
Actually, the whole website is pretty cute too!
Happy Friday to all!
http://theoatmeal.com/comics/cat_know

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

approaching...

The holidays are fast approaching and I have that lovely feeling of dread in my stomach... Both Billy and I have made it clear that we're limiting the amount of gift-buying/giving so that will hopefully help with the stress level a teensy, tiny bit. ESPECIALLY with this shitty economic year, it is even MORE STUPID to waste money on things that people really don't need. I certainly don't need people to waste money on me! I cringe when I hear people talk about Black Friday ads... They're all talking about shit they really didn't need before, JUST BECAUSE some circular is telling them they need it now.
Day by day... Thanksgiving and then Christmas... We'll make it though this alive!

Friday, November 6, 2009

an idea


I think we need to invest in a robot.
We can stop hiring people that ask the same questions over and over and over again. It's not any particular person's fault, the place is just not right for everyone.
Maybe a Hello Kitty Robot... How cute would it be to watch her make signs?!

Friday, September 25, 2009

a need to vent

There's the person that's been working with us and he drives me CRAZY. I don't think I've ever met anyone who can push my buttons as much as he does - even when he's not doing ANYTHING. This post is most definitely unfair to him, but I'm pretty sure he's never going to see it and I need to get this out because otherwise the wave of bitchiness I've directed at him is going to get worse... Like Un-PC worse... Like Kinkos worse...

The lack of common sense shown by this individual is unbelievable. Apparently he lived with a huge mold/mildew issue in his apartment for a YEAR with his girlfriend and 2 MONTH OLD BABY. This is something the city will actually take seriously. But did he escalate the issue to the correct authorities? NO. He lived with it for a year and when he and his family moved, everyone got sick from the mold they rustled up while moving (including the people helping him move). Even the newborn was sick with a 105+ fever. After this incident, the whole white trash family went to get flu shots which he swore to me were H1N1 shots... Unless you're living on the moon, most everyone knows the FDA JUST approved the swine flu vaccine and it will be available in October. If someone's going to be injecting ANYTHING into my bloodstream, I better know what the fuck it is first. Don't even think about injecting something into my family, pets, etc. without educating me about it beforehand. It ended up being thamaflu. He's lucky it wasn't heroin - it is Baltimore after all.

There's a ton of stupid mistakes made EVERYDAY. It's boring to go into details, but trust me, you'd be as pissed as I am if you worked here for a DAY. Simple details that are written clearly and highlighted are overlooked on a constant basis.

He doesn't ask for help. He'll stare at the object giving him issues for minutes upon minutes as if the problem will miraculously fix itself or as if some magic gnome's going to come out and give him an answer.

EVERYTHING he touches breaks. It's quite a feat to observe. The vacuum shorts out when he uses it (which he drags out at least 3 times a day because he isn't creative with coming up with new ways to stay busy when it's slow). All of us others have used it with no issues. I had to go purchase a new saw blade b/c he swore up and down the one we had was dull... It turned out he just doesn't know how to properly hold/operate a saw. He somehow jammed a pole into a customer's banner stand that refused to come out. My boss was going to kill him that day especially since it was friend of his banner stand. He can't even change a box cutter blade without issues.
He cut his finger on a blade and had A STITCH to close up the wound... He missed 2 days of work for it. I have a high pain tolerance, but REALLY? SERIOUSLY? Luckily he doesn't drive - Everyone's safer on the roads!

He's short and scrawny and weak which makes cutting substrate straight IMPOSSIBLE. I'm a 5'3" 105lb munchkin and I can accomplish such tasks!!! Don't ask him to cut straight lines or right angled corners.... Never going to happen. He walks like a dope. Stands like a dope. Talks like a dope. I can't stand to even look at the dumbass loser. I'm so glad his days are numbered. The amount of waste and redos he's generated is ridiculous!!!

Ahhhh... That was a nice lunch vent session. Time to get back to work and get the fuck outta here! It's Friday, bitches!




Monday, August 24, 2009

8 Bit

It's funny... I stumbled upon this video a day after Billy played hours of the original Zelda on the Wii. It's amazing how far we've come as far as video games graphics are concerned, but we all still manage to get sucked into the good ol' 8-bit game sometimes.

Monday, July 27, 2009

Thursday, July 16, 2009

angry asian man

REALLY? This guy is a MORON!

7.16.2009

"asian hottie" wanted for car photo shoot Oh, brother. Madeline sends this pathetic Craigslist posting from some guy looking for an "Asian Hottie" to pose next to his car. He apparently loves his car (probably a little too much), and loves Asian women (also probably a little too much), so his genius idea is to put them together for his personal little photo-op:
Asian Hottie Wanted for Photoshoot (mountain view)

Date: 2009-07-15, 1:15PM PDT

Hi,

I'm looking for a hot asian female to pose next to my smoking Black Dodge Charger. I love this car & I Love Asian women, so why not combine the two in a commemorative photo? Please wear something sexy (up to your discretion) and be ready for a lovely summertime photo-shoot. You can keep digital copies of the photos for you portfolio, show off how good you look, show your grandchildren... Don't let your beauty fade without some type of historical proof! ;^)

Thank you.

* it's NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests
* Compensation: 100 Dollars cash bucks
You are a sad, sad man, Mr. Black Dodge Charger. It's not quite enough for him to just admire the latest cover of Import Tuner or whatever. He wants to create his own little Asian/auto-fetish photo shoot. Oh, I'm sorry -- I mean, "commemorative photo." And ladies, if you're out there, perhaps considering answer this ad... please, do yourself a favor. Respect yourself.

angry asian man

Shared via AddThis

Saturday, July 4, 2009

We're back!

Wow... after 7 days of not thinking and basically being complete slugs, it's tough to adjust to doing "normal" things (grocery shopping, paying bills, etc.) It's so nice to be back home though and being away really makes you appreciate stuff when you get back. I'm so freakin happy to be around our little furry children AND I think my stomach is relieved to be enjoying some standard fare. We both were very smart and stayed out of the hot Dominican sun during peak hours, but we are TAAANNNN!!! Here are some pictures if you haven't seen them yet http://www.flickr.com/photos/jlhcrawford/sets/72157620784973167/

Our days consisted of grabbing chairs under an umbrella early in the morning and then eating breakfast at the World Cafe (buffet type restaurant with ANYTHING your little heart desires). We'd jump in the pool, grab some drinks from the swim up bar and relax (occasionally hopping into the clear blue ocean to swim with some fishies). A shower and a nap would usually follow and then we'd go and explore one of the5-6 restaurants in the resort. Billy's drink of choice was rum & coke and I enjoyed some great spicy Bloody Marys (I learned that you shouldn't drink more than one, unless you want to get sick later!). On a few nights, local craftsmen would come in and set up shop to sell their wares (I got a Larimar-gem of Dominican- pendant after some tough bargaining) and there were some spectacular shows in the convention hall. Lots of talented women in thongs doing high kicks in heels, dressed in some crazy elaborate garb. Oh, and there was a casino... We spent a lot of time goofing around on the video poker/slot machines. Sadly, we're not millionaires :) Surprisingly, our favorite restaurant turned out to be Bordeaux (French cuisine), Chateaubriand, Baked Grouper, Creme Brulee... yummy!

The people that worked in the resort were so friendly and accommodating! Many think this type of place exploits the native culture of the country, and I have to disagree. The people we interacted with were so proud to show us how they lived, talked, ate, drank, etc. It is a beautiful country and I would love to go back - SOON!

It was a lovely, relaxing vacation that we both deserved!

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

eeny meeny miney moe!


We chose this deal where the Resort (Dreams) picks the location where we stay in the Dominican when we go on vacation this summer...It's a little cheaper BUT it also prolongs the mystery of where we're going. All three of the Resorts are gorgeous, so I'm pretty sure we win no matter what happens. I CAN'T WAIT!!!

Friday, April 10, 2009

What is going on?!!

Best case scenario, you spend the WHOLE day working on ONE simple task and let the rest of the work pile up on your desk. Most of the time however, you spend your time on Facebook Chat, IM Chat AND on your cell phone texting people...
EVERY SINGLE interaction on the phone or at the counter leads to you bitching about the customer - sometimes while you're within earshot of the poor person on the receiving end of your wrath. Sometimes you pound your hands on the desk while you're on the phone (that desk is going to collapse one of these days) or you stomp your feet on the ground like a baby having a temper tantrum. You're the laziest person I have encountered... EVER.
People are noticing, and it's leading to an all over lack of respect for you. Don't you see that?
What the hell is going on with you? While everyone's working hard to keep their jobs in this current economy, you act like having a job is a game! You come into work late EVERY FUCKING DAY! You're rude to customers, you don't take any pride or respect in what you do, you just stopped caring. It's making us all VERY UNHAPPY.
You're too old to think this is cute so please STOP IT!

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N

I am so freakin excited! We are booked and scheduled to go to the Dominican Republic for 7 days at the end of June. I can't wait. Need sun. Need surf. Need sand. Need complete RELAXATION!

Friday, April 3, 2009

Thursday, April 2, 2009

a phone call

I learned last night from my aunt that my grandmother (who's been having issues with high blood pressure for the past few weeks) was admitted to GBMC. They'll be finding out what's going on with her today and hopefully it'll will work out ok. My Aunt knew about the blood pressure battles, but it seemed that medication was helping so she didn't tell any of the grandchildren - my grandmother's wishes due to pride and not wanting to be a burden to the family.
My grandmother and my mom have had their issues, but Mom Mom has ALWAYS been there for me and this is so upsetting. I worry about my Pop Pop and how he's doing while Mom Mom's in the hospital. I'm even worried about who's going to take care of Buddy the ankle-nipping dog.
I'm more than a little angry and hurt that my parents couldn't tell me about any of this. I'm sure the excuse is that they didn't want to worry me, but fuck em. They know how much I love Mom Mom and it could have been one little call, one little email, one little text message - when they knew she was going to the hospital and not 8 hours later, AFTER I hear from someone else - to let me know what's going on. Instead, I'm one of the first people my Aunt calls... and I am so thankful for that, but really Mom and Dad? WTF? Grow the Fuck up and get over yourselves.

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

nom nom nom nom nom nom nom

The Nom Nom Nom Song will cheer up just about anyone!

grumble to the maxx

Fat, nosy, overtanned, bleached, lazy, squeaky, disorganized, immature, insincere...
She’s “hiding” - is it even possible to hide an orange rhino?
Yacking on her cell phone.
Like no one knows what she’s doing.

She epitomizes EVERYTHING I HATE.

Friday, February 27, 2009

Whoo Hoo!

Billy is on his way home with... A NEW CAR!!! A Mazda 3 - Blue/Grey Color, manual (which is tough to find these days) and a moonroof!!!! I am so happy for him and so happy the Escort is gone. It served him well, but since I've had my new car (a year soon!) I haven't really driven with him in his old car (towards the end, it was dirty and I felt like it was bound to go up soon!!!). It is GREAT that he was able to make this happen because he truly deserves it! I am so proud of him and happy and I can't wait to smell that new car smell!!!!

Friday, February 20, 2009

Creativity with Illustrator

I was sort of not busy at work today, so I decided to see if I could build a vector image based on a photo that still looked like a photo - no harsh lines.... I think it came out pretty well! This may be my next tattoo!




Thursday, February 19, 2009

Asian Driver...


Why is it that Asians have such a horrible rep for being bad drivers?
Believe me, every race has an equal amount of bad drivers - I see it everyday during my commute to work!

I'm baffled and a bit emabarassed by the fact that I find this stereotype absolutely hilarious... That makes me a bad Korean I think.

I cringe when I think about driving in the parking lot in front of Billy's store - it's next to a gigantic Asian/Ethnic food store... That makes me just as bad as the other people that think all Asians are bad drivers!

But I think there may be some truth to all stereotypes - otherwise they wouldn't exist, right?

How did the stereotype start and how does it still exist?

http://www.misanthropytoday.com/2009/02/18/driving-tips-for-bad-drivers-in-los-angeles/

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Health Costs Blow!

So for the past few years I've been on Lexapro which is the BOMB when it comes to making the winter and the cold a little less dreary for me. It had very few side effects and it worked without making me too crazy or frantic.
When my company had decent health insurance, I'd pay the $20 copay for a month-long RX. Unfortunately, with the cost of health insurance rising, SBT switched to a High Deductible Insurance Plan where I basically pay everything out of pocket until I hit $1500 for the year - only after I spend that money will copays come into effect. (Thankfully the idiots that came up with this concept managed to keep annual exams and girl/OBGYN appointments at the $20-$30 price)
So anyway, the cost of Lexapro jumped to more than $70 a month!!!! I've hit the point where my health savings account is draining out faster than I can add to it and I need to switch to a cheaper drug - Hopefully, it will work just as well for me. But what if it doesn't?!!!!!!
The patent on Lexapro was renewed so generics won't be out until 2012 (greedy pill companies!) I'm pretty confident that I wouldn't have been put in this predicament if my employer wasn't getting completely raped by the cost of providing his employees with a decent health plan and we could have stuck with our standard HMO plan.
I makes me sick to know that our health care is so f_ed in this country that people are forced to make such decisions regarding their well-being... I mean, this pill is just something that makes me a little more comfortable in everyday life, but there are people out there that can't afford heart medication... insulin... other vital medicines... Something has got to give!

Monday, January 26, 2009

Ickiness

I just need to keep telling myself that Spring will be here soon...
I'm so tired of the cold, the gray, the wind, the chills, the darkness. It's not that I haven't had some good times this winter, I am just not suited for this weather.
It doesn't help that my mother, my father, my sister, my grandmother, my grandfather and I have our birthdays in January, February and March either - not with everything going on already. More family drama.
I'm tired of the guilt trips. My mom doesn't even try to see things from my side. It sucks. She even thinks this winter depression I go through every year is a show. Sure Mom. This is how I like to spend my hard-earned money - anti-depressants.
The vote of confidence from my mom and my dad is just terrible... How the hell did it get like this? I feel like I've done pretty well - especially for someone who hasn't finished college. I pay bills on time and still have money leftover to play around with or save. I'm able to pay off a new car and I have a job where I can express my creativity daily. I like to read and learn new things everyday - I'm not an idiot by any means and I behave myself (for the most part). I have NEVER borrowed money from them and the only time I asked them to co-sign for a used car years ago, they declined.
It's just a mess.
I do know that whatever is going on, it's not my fault. Whatever happened years ago had nothing to do with me. It's not going to shred my confidence anymore...
The past was shaped by guilt...
That IS NOT how I choose to live my life.

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Clenched jaw

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Friday, January 16, 2009

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Business

hmmmm... if a company has had to lay off a few people due to the failing economy, does it make sense that they continue to give 30%-40% discounts to clients (specifically friends of the business owners)? I mean, I may be crazy, but it doesn't seem smart to me... or am I just nuts?

Monday, January 5, 2009

lazy asses! :)

It bothers me that so many people walk around with such a feeling of entitlement and yet, they haven’t really done ANYTHING to prove they are deserving of additional respect, opportunities, etc.
Whenever I encounter people like this, I cringe and hope to goodness I don’t ever adopt this way of thinking! Hard work, honesty, and pride (in what you do) are so under-rated in this society… It makes me so sad!